9 Years Later…

Derek Cole
1 min readNov 9, 2021

--

In school I was not a fan of science at all. Not even close. Actually I didn’t take the required science in college until my senior year. That’s how much interest I had.

Today marks my 9th year of “officially” having multiple sclerosis. After 9 years, I feel like I’m a doctor! Between reading research studies on treatments, tests, trials, and having too many doctors visits at Duke to keep up with, I’m into science.

I can tell when I visit the neurology department I’m not asking the conventional questions about treatments and medications. But, most of all I laugh at Jody’s face. She gives me the look of “what are you talking about?” while me and the doctor talk about B cells, T cells and everything immune system related!

The amazing part of these last 9 years??? God’s faithfulness.

Here is some quick math: I’ve now had approximately $648,200 worth of medication. That’s right. That’s a lot! Amazingly, Jody and I have only had to pay approximately $510 out of pocket.

I’m sure you’ve heard people say they can’t afford NOT to tithe to the Church?

We can’t afford NOT to tithe faithfully to the Church…

--

--

Derek Cole

Faith, Family, Business & Football | GM @SimmonsOneHourHtgAir | #AskDerekCole Show | Entrepreneur Franchise Player